Rated Reads

Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy, book 1)

by Neal Shusterman

Rated: Mild

What happens after death? Does everyone get to where they are going? According to Neal Shusterman’s young-adult novel, many children do not; they arrive in Everlost, living on earth as spectral beings among mortals, with whom they cannot directly interact.

In a Twilight Zone version of Lord of the Flies, the author tells the tale of Allie and Nick, two teens who never met until they were both killed in the same automobile accident. On their respective ways to their final destinations, they bumped into each other and awoke in a world of spirit beings, still on Earth. Dead, but not at rest.

As they try to make their respective ways to their original, earthly homes, they come into contact with all sorts of interesting characters, some of whom have learned how to inflict suffering upon spirits that no longer can feel pain. They also learn many of the peculiarities of their new world and use these to their advantage as they work to get by in their new home.

This is a very, very interesting tale that touches upon many different facets of good and evil, as well as the overall concept of life after death. The characters are fully fleshed out (pun intended), and it is fascinating to see how they deal with the variety of problems that come their way. Shusterman has created a world worth exploring and posited possibilities worth thinking about.

Rated: Mild, for a handful (less than ten) of mild curse words, and another handful of phrases that take the Lord’s name in vain.

— Reviewed by Craig Smith

Craig Smith is chief medical officer of Tacoma Cat Hospital. In addition to providing book reviews on Rated Reads, he podcasts about feline health issues through iTunes and www.tacomacat.com.

4 Responses to Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy, book 1)

  1. […] main characters from Everlost have all been busy pursuing their perceived missions: Mary continues to collect souls and help them […]

  2. […] is on a mission to find Mary, the fabled Eastern Witch. All of our friends and acquaintances from Everlost are continuing their journeys, after having either been separated or brought into new alliances via […]

  3. Emily says:

    What pages does it take to Lord’s name in vain on?

  • Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy, book 1)
  • by Neal Shusterman
  • Rated: Mild
  • Genre: Young adult
  • Reviewer: